Skip to content

Make the Holidays Special with Bookshare

Bookshare has a wealth of titles for pleasure reading, cooking, crafting, and celebrating holiday traditions.

The holiday season is full of joy and wonderment, especially when you explore new ways to make the season bright. Think back to baking or smelling a warm pie fresh from the oven, making a homemade gift, or hearing a child’s laughter reading a favorite bedtime story. Books about these holiday-themed activities and many more can be found in the Bookshare library. The collections team has chosen a variety of books that appeal to all ages and interests. Here are a few favorites for you to discover and enjoy.

Fun and Traditional Reads for All Ages

The Book of (Holiday) Awesome (family nonfiction, self-help, humor)Book cover for Winter World by Bernd Heinrich

From Christmas, Hanukkah, and Kwanzaa, to other holidays such as Mother’s Day and Thanksgiving, this book will show you why holidays are…awesome.

Winter World: The Ingenuity of Animal Survival (family nonfiction, nature)

From flying squirrels to grizzly bears and from torpid turtles to insects with antifreeze, the animal kingdom relies on some staggering evolutionary innovations to survive winter.

The Story of the Nutcracker (family literature, fantasy, fiction)

Delightful tale of a little girl’s love for an enchanted nutcracker.

The Twelve Days of Dash & Lily (teen fiction)

Life-affirming romance and New York Times bestseller.

We Are What We Celebrate (family nonfiction, social studies)Book cover of The Story of the Nutcracker by ETA Hoffmann

Why do we exchange presents? What do bunnies have to do with Easter? How did Earth Day become global?

Oliver the Cat Who Saved Christmas: The Tale of a Little Cat with a Big Heart (children’s fiction)

A Christmas book perfect for fans of A Street Cat Named Bob.

Romance, History and Cultural Traditions

Dreidels on the Brain (children’s fiction)

This very funny, very touching novel of growing up Jewish has the makings of a holiday classic.

Favorite Christmas Poems (nonfiction, all ages)

Heartwarming poems, including “The Night Before Christmas,” highlight this festive compilation of yuletide verse to enchant readers of all ages.

Christmas in Paris: A Novel (adult fiction)

Heartwarming story about love, trust, and self-discovery during a magical time of the year with glorious foods and fashions.

The Man Who Invented Christmas (adult nonfiction)

Just before Christmas in 1843, a debt-ridden Charles Dickens wrote a small book he hoped would keep his creditors at bay.Book cover of Dreidels on the Brain by Joel Ben Izzy

Secrets in the Snow: A Novel of Intrigue and Romance (teen/young adult fiction)

Jane Austen’s family is eager to secure her future, but Jane is much more interested in writing novels and finds every suitor lacking–until a mysterious gentleman arrives.

Do It Yourself (DIY) Crafts

How to Make Christmas Wreaths and Garlands (all ages)

A collection of wreath and garland projects to make the festive period even more special.

Washi Tape Christmas (all ages)

Thirty simple craft projects with a range of festive patterns.

Seasonal Cooking

Jewish Cooking for All Seasons: Fresh, Flavorful Recipes for Holidays and Every Day (family)

A collection of more than 150 creative, convenient, and seasonal kosher dishes.

The Ski House Cookbook: Warm Winter Dishes for Cold Weather Fun (family)

As many as 125 easy and delicious meals designed with minimum prep time.

An Old-Fashioned Christmas: Sweet Traditions for Hearth and Home (family)

Celebrate the beauty and charm of the holidays with recipes for traditional food and drink, decorating ideas, and heartwarming stories of snow, pine forests, and sleigh rides.

Share the Love

Carol Auxer, Bookshare member, and her daughter Deanna McCusker, head of UX at Benetech, stand in front of one of Carol's quilts
Carol and her daughter Deanna

Reading can open new worlds and wake up inner passions.

If you didn’t find a book to pique your curiosity or strum at your heartstrings, Bookshare has hundreds of thousands of titles to choose from. Try the Advanced Search option to explore new categories and sweeten the season for you or a loved one.

You may also like this blog, “Share the Bookshare Love with your Aging Family and Friends,” written by Deanna McCusker, Head of UX at Benetech, about her mother, Carol Auxer, who enjoys reading with Bookshare in spite of her macular degeneration.

Many thanks to Kathy Swartz, Bookshare Operations Administrator and Librarian, for her invaluable help selecting these wonderful holiday titles.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.